In some countries more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is known worldwide that a huge number of people who have just purchased or even rented a place to live have interests in knowing more about the history of the building or house they live in. Overall, there are many reasons why one decides to investigate details of his new residence, some of the reasons are: fear, safety, knowledge and to avoid certain future problems. According to an article in famous brazilian magazine called Veja, which approached issues related to this topic, it makes part of our nature to explore and try to find out truths surrounding everything we do. In this essay, not only the possible reasons that lead these people to perform these actions will be discussed but also how they can do the research. First of all, it is commonly believed that the major reason is fear, since they may live in a place where there might be a high crime rate, the person surely will investigate whether the site where he lives is safe or not, no human being wishes to live in a dangerous place. Secondly, another factor that may contribute to this research is the structural problem the building may face in the future, mainly if it is not a new built- place. Checking the plumbing, the walls, the structure itself is essential before moving to the new residence, if it is not done before, the person may have huge problems later. Make a research to find out more information about these places is crucial to know more details about the place you live. There are several ways for one to do it by simply googling on the internet, thanks to technology, nowadays it is a faster and safer way to search for the desired information, mainly about enviromental -related issues such as flood, earthquake, crime rate that may have occured nearby. Moreover, another possible solution is talking to the old neighbors to discover facts about the place, you may find out about other people who used to live there and history about the place as well. To conclude, investigating the history of a place you may live in is considered to be normal for the society, due to the fact that you are searching for safety and knowledge, and through technology and people around you it is possible to find the answers.