Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are important for education and conservation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Traditionally places of entertainment, zoos have changed considerably, and mostly for the better. While some feel that they have a crucial role to play both in education and in conservation more broadly, others argue that they are unsuitable places for animals. This essay will discuss both views and outline why I feel zoos are cruel and pointless. Advocates of zoos claim that they are an indispensable tool in raising awareness of environmental issues and fighting species extinction. Indeed, many zoos are engaged in captive breeding programs of endangered animals in order to provide a safety net for dwindling wild populations. In Australia, where the Tasmanian Devil population has been decimated by a contagious disease in recent years, Victorian zoos are breeding healthy Devils to bolster the numbers. Such programs, supporters claim, also help to educate the public and lead them towards more sustainable lives. In other words, contact encourages activism, in their view. Despite these arguments, others, myself included, feel that keeping animals in captivity is unacceptable. Even though the Tasmanian Devils may thrive in captivity, most animals, particularly large wide-roaming species like lions and elephants, struggle to reproduce. For those that do, their life is spent in small enclosures with limited stimulation and little to no chance of ever returning to the wild. In terms of education, there is no evidence that seeing a captive animal leads to any meaningful shift in behaviour or attitudes. Clearly, zoo supporters' claims are unfounded. In conclusion, this essay discussed reasons why some people support zoos and others oppose them. In my view, while conservation efforts are vital, I feel that there are better ways to go about it than by locking animals up in zoos.