Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, traffic congestion and accidents have become a topic of interest for the global public. Numerous people claim that central officials should invest more money in improving railways in order to address the problems that we are facing. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement and suggest that governments should also pay attention to the current road system. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the erection of modern railway networks contributes greatly to the convenience and lives of citizens as well as the community. Trains are faster than cars and the majority of transportations, given that they use separated lanes and are capable of running at high speed which ensures they will not be affected by traffic congestion. Consequently, people can reach their desired location more quickly which saves them a plethora of time for other work. Additionally, trains have more space for not only passengers but also cargo and goods, which decreases the total number of transportation used. For example, more than 100 people can commute on a single train, compared to just five if they use a private car. As a result, providing that the number of transportation will drop, there will be less emission and air pollution, which has an advantageous impact on communal health. On the other hand, I believe that governments should also improve the present road system. It is clear that the upgrade of railway networks requires an enormous amount of funding, which puts a strain on the national budget of developing countries that are economically disadvantaged. Were they to spend all of their money on constructing railways and trains, they would have nothing left to tackle serious issues such as poverty and unemployment, which slows down their growth. Instead of that, governments in these nations should concentrate on advancing their existing roads so that their citizens could commute more effortlessly. In conclusion, it is undeniable that railways up-gradation plays a vital role in addressing traffic-related concerns. Nonetheless, I advocate that for some nations, developing traditional roads is more beneficial.