Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In recent years, technological devices have become less expensive and widely available for people all around the world. Thus, it is probable that employees, as well as students, are inclined to work and study from home. In my opinion, I think the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages for several reasons below. To begin with, computer-based communication tools allow workers to attend company discussions and contact their colleagues at any time and anywhere without having to travel long distances. Consequently, it also promotes international trade and cooperation between businesses throughout the globe. Moreover, online education creates more study opportunities for students, especially those who want to be educated abroad or live in remote areas. They only need to have an internet-connected device to join any courses they like, which helps them overcome homesickness as well as financial limitations. Moreover, since people can work from their homes, the constructions of big buildings or offices are no longer necessary. Therefore, the fundings and space can be contributed to improving other facilities, such as roads construction or establishing entertainment places. What is more, working from home reduces the number of cars on the road, which results in a lower rate of traffic accidents as well as greenhouse gas emissions. To sum up, computer technologies are changing the nature of working as well as basic education. In my opinion, distance working and distance learning is a positive development with plenty of advantages over traditional office jobs, such as flexibility, autonomy, and optimistic environmental changes.