Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

It is commonly seen that shopping has become a free time activity for most people. There are many arguments about its pros and cons. In this,essay we will discuss the reasons for the popularity of shopping and also the effect it may cause on people and the community. First and foremost, the main reason that makes shopping one of the favourite activities is that it will give satisfaction to people. Most of the pupils feel satisfied when they buy new things and stuff and it also helps to nourish self-esteem. When people are confident they tend to be happy as well. For example, research In Japan has been shown that 80% of women do shop every weekend are happier than the women who go shopping every fortnight. On the other hand, regular shopping can have some impact on people and the community. People spend a great deal of their salary for buying new items which may not be essential sometimes and it may cause the shortness of saving for the future. For instance, in the United Kingdom, people spend 50% of their salary to buy new items and their monthly savings have decreased. Moreover, an increase of time for shopping in free time may harm the societies as well, people prefer to go shopping instead of spending time with their friends and neighbours. For instance, in Dubai, women are often go shopping at weekend and the number of gatherings has been decreasing over the years. In conclusion, shopping can be considered as an enjoyable activity for free time, because it can have a positive effect on self-esteem and happiness, however, people must make a balance between buying new items and their salary and also it should not lead to overspending.