Television news contain more bad news nowadays. Some people say it is a negative development. Do you agree?

Some people think it is bad that there is more bad news on television. I disagree with that because this kind of news has an important role in educating people and meanwhile boosts the development of media under proper administration. "Bad" news sometimes can teach people more things than "good" news. These pieces of news reveal the most realistic and darkest parts of our lives, like murdering, cheating, and so on. Although ordinary people may not always come across those misfortunes, they still need to be aware of that. For example, if the public notice the news that many students lost their money due to illegal contracts made by certain house agencies, they will be more careful when they go to rent apartments. Negative news actually warns others based on someone's miserable experience so that there will be less pitiful things that happen in the future. In addition, mass media can benefit from reporting bad news as long as they are regulated by the government. People are mostly attracted by astonishing things and bad news always has that kind of fearful effects. If televisions and newspapers only show positive but boring news, fewer people will like to watch it and thus sales will decrease. However, when they are producing news, they should follow a legal standard and be censured by the authorities. This can prevent them from publishing or exaggerating anything that they want. In conclusion, it is very good that more bad news appears on television since it teaches people lessons and helps the media develop.