Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that choosing what someone wears is associated with that person’s culture as well as upbringing. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why choosing the set of clothes would not affect anyone’s character, before arriving at a conclusion. Personally, I disagree with the statement because they do not define an individual. The culture of a country is represented by history as well as the environment, and not the personal preferences of its citizens. Sometimes, clothes are even associated with social status. For instance, in the Philippines, those below the poverty line cannot afford to purchase proper clothing. Nonetheless, they are the ones who are known to be the most hardworking and credible people. In addition, clothes would not define how ethical a person is. For example, a young boy who chooses to wear ragged shirts, loose pants, and slippers does not equal being ill-mannered. It just shows that he may be comfortable in wearing these compared with their traditional wardrobe. Although, it should always be considered that there are specific clothing for special occasions that should be worn with the utmost respect. In conclusion, others think that the choice of attire represents where a person came from as well as how well he or she grew up. Clothing is considered a privilege. Also, it is a way to express comfort. However, it should be taken into consideration that certain pieces of clothing must be worn with dignity. Personally, I strongly believe that people’s preferences should be separated from their beliefs.