Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money, others argue that these are necessary for individuals. Discuss both views and give opinion.

In the present age, whether spending on big celebrations is essential has sparked much debate Some people assert that lavish expenditures done on huge celebrations are only a waste of money, whereas others argue that these ate necessary for society. Personally, I am in favour of the former view. Convincing arguments can be made that amounts that are spent on parties can be better used in other profitable ways. The best example is, this money could be used for higher studies which will further help to grow in career and life. In other words, more profits can be earned by putting those amounts in profitable investments; therefore, this should be avoided. Moreover, many middle-class families resort to loans and mortgages to meet the expense to be done on these functions which further leads to financial burden and stress in their life. As this money could have been used for building a better life, it is clear that problems can arise for those who spend extremely on such occasions.. Admittedly, many individuals spend huge amounts on their big events due to social obligations.. the reason for this is that they think as they themselves have attended, it is their responsibility to return the favour. Besides that, it is considered essential to maintaining strong bonds with friends and relatives which further help to remain an important part of society Furthermore, as these events are regarded as once in a lifetime, people prefer to celebrate at a grand level. The best example is, married couples start to plan their ceremonies for the wedding a few months before and they spend lavishly in order to make those moments indelible. To conclude, though spending on such events is important, the huge amounts could be neglected. I firmly believe that those expenditures must be avoided by modern societies