Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problems. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

Imprisonment is considered the most efficient method of punishing the offenders, while others believe that providing qualified education to the pupils is a better option. I completely agree with the latter statement, and in my opinion, education is beneficial for mankind in various manners. To begin with, education definitely has the potential to enhance an individual’s mindset. To elaborate, it creates awareness among pupils and encourages them to be more civilised. For example, a literate person is undoubtedly more conscious, and has a better knowledge of the rules and regulations of his/her surroundings. Moreover, a good academic background makes humans extremely obedient and empathetic. To elucidate, according to research conducted at the National University of Singapore, it was reported that there is an inverse relationship between literacy and the crime rate of a nation. Furthermore, the main reason behind the rapidly increasing number of crimes is poverty and unemployment. In other words, immensely poor living conditions encourages people to commit heinous offences like murder, kidnapping and burglary. In addition, it is very significant to provide basic qualifications to the citizens in order to curb the trajectory of crime. New Zealand, for instance, is the biggest example of this scenario where the ratio of criminal offences has regressed dramatically, because of the increased employment opportunities and advanced academic facilities. To conclude, from my perspective, putting criminals in jails is inevitably the most common practice, but countries should rather educate their citizens to get a better response and to tackle these issues more rigorously.