Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The correlation between prolonged work hours and fostered economic prosperity is sophisticated, raising the question surrounding its negative impacts on societal life. While financial benefits have been fostered by increased work time, I believe that the social relationship cycle has been adversely influenced. The reasons for this are as follows. To begin with, usually, extended time is accompanied by climbed production. In other words, following the world’s population growth, the demand for consumable and non-consumable goods increased. By increasing work time and raising salaries, developed countries such as the United States, Japan and China have contributed to meeting the world’s population needs by taking advantage of available technology and knowledge. This contribution to fulfilling global requirements and selling diverse goods and services has made them the leader in the global markets, absorbing financial profit exponentially. According to the World Economic Organization, this approach in Japan had a 35% contribution to its GNP in 2019, which was spent on constructing five highly equipped hospitals. This influx of funds to such nations, therefore, fosters economic foundations as well as improves the quality of educational, recreational and healthcare facilities for residents. Nonetheless, additional working costs reduced time for other activities. Typically, spending a minimum of nine to five at the workplace coupled with a standard of eight hours of sleep time leaves little time for other activities such as dining, exercising, showering and particularly socializing. This lack of time for socializing and confining with family and friends undermines relationships by distancing people from each other. A study from Harvard University found that the rate of divorce is 30% higher among American couples spending more than 50 hours a week at work. Consequently, the emerging cool relations exacerbate loneliness and make people prone to depression and other mental disorders. In conclusion, although long work time enhances welfare and brings a high-quality life, it could be compromising for social life. I believe not monetary values should be sacrificed for societal values and vice versa. Thus, if people aim to have a fulfilled life, taking a balance between life and work is advisable