Advertising can influence the way people think, so it has negative effects. Do you agree or disagree?

In the current world, some people think that advertising has a negative influence on them while others think otherwise. From my perspective, there are some truths for both views. The following paragraphs will elucidate my stance. Firstly, advertising does make customers more efficient in selecting and purchasing goods. For the sake of better sales, producers tend to give information about what makes their product so unique and necessary in detail. This can change the public's perception of certain goods. And that is why people can find anything they want with ease nowadays. For example, it is very hard for a household wife to determine which type of washing machine is best suited. But with the assistance of advertising, she would know that the multifunctional one is best suited rather than the one with a bigger capacity. Therefore, advertisements help people make the decision by providing them with additional information. Secondly, however, adverts seeming to vary the way people think, which can result in large-scaled irrational consumption. Due to the fact that in order to make better sales of commodities, producers tend to make exaggerations on their functions thereby persuading buyers to purchase. For instance, a few months ago, a big Chinese company specialised in making facial masks invite a few experts in their campaign advertisement to discuss how can its new version of facial masks is able to produce the desired result within one week without any adverse impacts. Then the company earned a great deal of money, but soon, people found that what the mask comprises are nothing but normal nutrients. Thus, advertising can negatively impact the public. On balance, since advertising can either be utilized for giving users a better understanding of the product or to overstate its functions, it is of great difficulty to draw the conclusion.