These days people spend more and more time at work and less time at home. What are advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent times, people spend the majority of their time at the workplace instead of spending quality time with their loved ones at home. There are several merits and demerits to this phenomenon which will be discussed in the following passages. In this modern era, competition is stiff and everyone is trying their level best to prove their worth within their organization. As the workforce is unstable, everyone tries to hang on to their work as much as possible. Management takes advantage of this attitude and puts immense pressure on their employees in order to complete the task in an unrealistic timeline. Additionally, to satisfy their bosses adults put heart and soul and spend more time in the office doing extra work. However, this culture fuels them to work harder, earn more money,and climb up the career ladder at a faster pace. For example, a recent survey conducted by Work -culture magazine revealed that 79% of workers overcompensate by working late hours to gain more bonuses and visibility in their office. Having said that, family plays a crucial part in everyone's life. Parents, Partners and kids are integral part of one's existence. Spending a reasonable amount of time with them over a cup of tea helps to strengthen the relationship. Failing to give importance to kith and kin can lead to break-ups which might affect one's mental stability. Loneliness can cause people to feel empty, alone, and unwanted. To exemplify, a study performed by the Mental Wellness Centre reported that people who had no positive relation with their families tended to perform poorly in their work. Overall, I believe that a person needs to have a healthy balance between work and private life. Both aspects are vital for one's survival. While earning a large salary is important, having a family to share it with is equally essential.