Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

It has been reported that there are some nations issued laws that restrict working time for its workers. The main reason for enacting these rules is that it would reduce work stress and pressure, and therefore this change would have a significant impact on employees' well-being. One of the significant reasons for enacting this rule is that it would significantly contribute to eliminating stress and tiredness that come from working for longer hours. This is because when working time is increased, workers started to lose more concentration and energy in doing their tasks, which made them more worried about not finding the right balance between their job and personal life. Many European countries such as Holland and France have presented laws, imposing companies to set six hours as maximum for working mothers. This type of regulation has enabled them to improve their job performance as they are no longer obliged to stay away from their children for a longer period. This change has a positive impact on employees' physical and mental health because reducing working hours would provide them more time to recharge their energy and look after their well-being. There have been many scientific studies supporting the effectiveness of this rule in enhancing labors' health through minimizing the number of medical issues coming from working for longer hours; such as headaches, back pain, and depression. This would result in increasing job productivity and satisfaction as workers could steer their focus in accomplishing their job assignments in a shorter period. To sum up, alleviating the work burden is one of the primary reasons for imposing a restriction on working hours in some countries. This law has been considered as an advantage for employees because it brings a positive change to their physical and mental health.