Today more countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

There has been an increase in the number of countries that import food from different parts of the world. Importing and exporting goods has become a crucial aspect to improve relationship's between the nations. However, it might have both advantage's and disadvantage's associated with it. In my essay, I will discuss them further. Not all countries are blessed to harvest required food products within their boundaries because cultivation depends on the type of soil, climate and water supply; therefore, helps obtain needed supplies. Also, due to the increased number of migrants, the authorities are encouraging the entry of foreign cultivates. Regardless of the expenses, the higher officials are subjected to fulfil the needs of their citizens. For example, we have an Indian, an Asian and a Korean grocery store in every shopping centre in Melbourne. This encourages the immigrants to feel adopted and in return can improve the economy. Being an immigrant myself, I personally would never settle in a country where I do not find my local produce. On the other hand, the cost of living is affected. If the item is subjected to tax, there is higher expenditure. For instance, Okra cannot to cultivated in Australia because of which, they import it from other territories like India, Bangladesh and Pakistan. Due to this, Okra is expensive in this continent in comparison to the south-Asian countries. Imported products are expensive due to the application of state and service taxes. Apart from this, local farmers feel that financial grants and support from the native authorities can definitely help them in harvesting new crops. To conclude, Importing food products from other countries does come with advantages and disadvantages as discussed above. To summarize, I, therefore, feel that, having a wide range of options and maintaining inter-continental relations by imports and exports is advantageous, however, taxes might overshadow this trend in few instances.