Some people think governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, while others think that there are many unsolved problems on Earth. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there are many ongoing debates trying to reach a consensus on whether people should give priority to solve the potential issue on Earth or to searching for a habitable planet in the universe. This article will discuss both views and explain why I am more inclined to the former. On one hand, to those who side with the suggestion to find a new planet in the universe, the best approach to deal with the series of negative consequences is not to face it. More specifically, people had better move to another suitable planet, rather than worry about the situation on Earth. We must recognize the fact the mankind civilization really struggles on confronting various issues that can hardly reverse like global warming and energy exhaustion. In other words, the time and money we spend on tackling such matters are futile. For instance, very small progress has been made even though we have spent fortunes on finding and applying a new sort of energy; since fossil fuels are currently the main source of energy, we can hardly alleviate global warming. Therefore, settle down on a new planet is probably the best-case scenario. On the other hand, considering those who maintain that governments should simply pay more to protect the Earth. It is crucial to solve the known issues in advance. Due to the fact that certain environmental problems such as deforestation and desertification have detrimental effects on the ecosystem, which is an indispensable part of the Earth, we must stop such them from further deterioration. In other words, if nothing is done to alleviate these problems, they are going to kill all of us before we make our journey to another planet. As an important aside, base on the technology we now have, it approximately takes more than two centuries to build a spaceship that is capable of more than 7 billion people. Thus, there is no exaggeration to say that neither one of the plans can eventually be done if we focus on anything else but not the unsolved problems on Earth. To conclude, while some claim that we should move to another planet since some fatal problems seem intractable and others argue that it is of great importance to solve the issues before we do anything else, I believe that solve the known problems produce the best outcome.