Some people say that in order to prevent illnesses and diseases, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and improving living conditions. Do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that governments should concentrate on alleviating environmental contamination and improving quality of life in order to deter illnesses and diseases. I fully agree that pollution and poor living conditions have detrimental impacts on people’s health, so governments should put every effort into the prevention of illnesses and infections for a healthier population and long-term benefits. It is obvious that there are many negative effects on people’s bodies that are the result of environmental pollution and deprived living conditions. First, pollutants in the surroundings can directly affect human health. For example, the increase in the amount of exhaust fumes in the atmosphere causes air pollution, which is the primary culprit of lethal respiratory diseases such as asthma or lung cancer. Second, being detrimentally affected by harmful pollutants, people’s immune systems can be weakened. This makes humans more susceptible to infections and chronic diseases. Finally, poor living conditions directly contribute to the spread of contagious sicknesses. Overcrowded housing, for instance, means that people are in close contact with each other, which works in tandem with inadequate personal hygiene to facilitate the spread of airborne diseases like colds and flu. Therefore, so as to improve overall public health quality, I firmly believe that governments should concentrate on decreasing environmental contamination and making living conditions better. Obviously, prevention is cheaper and easier than cure. Instead of curing with enormous cost, governments should raise people’s awareness about protecting the habitat, like clearing the trash around their living habitats, planting more trees and recycling. Besides, a healthy environment fosters a healthy population, which is essential for long-term human well-being. By spending money on cleaner and more sustainable technologies or renewable energy sources, governments can help reduce contamination and lessen waste and pollutants released into the environment. In conclusion, I believe that investments made in depolluting the surroundings and improving the quality of life of the people are the most optimal methods of preventing illnesses.