Some people think that watching sports in one's free time is just a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is an irrefutable fact that technology is changing our lifestyles. One of these technological advances that impact our lives is TV. People watch different programmes, including sports on TV to unwind their minds. However, some believe that watching sports on TV is a waste of time. Personally, I believe that watching sports on TV is not a waste of time, but individuals should strike a balance between their leisure time and social lives. To commence with the positive aspects of watching sports on the television, first and foremost, for many people following sports is a real passion, and it is well-known that being passionate about something makes us happier human beings. Oftentimes, individuals cannot afford to go to sports events, consequently, watching it on TV can be the only option. Secondly, watching sports can be a good reason to socialize with friends and spend an enjoyable time together. For instance, we were getting together with friends in the evening to watch the Olympic games, we all had a common topic to communicate. On the contrary, watching TV too frequently can turn into an addiction and result in disruptive consequences. They may be isolated from society and develop unhealthy eating habits. Individuals should balance their time between work, following a passion, participating in the family's social life and other aspects of everyday life. To conclude, watching television can help to cope with daily stress and make one's life more entertaining. Despite that, slouching in front of the TV for hours and hours can have a detrimental impact on mental and physical well-being.