The world natural resources are being consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the dangers of this situation? What should we do?

It is true that the overconsumption of natural resources has resulted in many serious problems. These negative consequences are needed to tackle urgently. The unsustainable levels of consuming natural resources have impacted on environment and society. In environmental terms, this has caused many environmental problems. For example, the burning of fossil fuels releases a large amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which causes global warming, climate change and air pollution. In addition, forest destruction for timber and agriculture has driven many animal species to the verge of extinction. In social terms, the overexploitation of marine species and forests devastates fish stocks and causes a shortage of timber in the next years. This threatens jobs for local people and the traditional lifestyles in fishing villages. It is evident, therefore, some measures should be adopted to address this situation. Firstly, citizens should be encouraged to use alternative sources of energy, because these types of energy are eco-friendly and boundless. Governments can invest in renewable sources of energy and make them viable for public use in years to come. Moreover,governments should raise awareness of local people through newspapers, televisions and the Internet. Secondly, authorities could ban stricter laws that ban heavily those who squander natural resources. By doing so, fishing communities are safeguarded and the timber industry will be controlled. In addition, this ensures a supply of wood which need to construct houses and buildings. In conclusion, the levels of consuming natural sources reach an alarming rate, humans should take steps to mitigate these consequences.