In the past, many people had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? Is this also true in your country?

Strange as it may seem, nowadays, the importance of many manual skills such as making traditional costumes and repairing things, which used to be seen as a significant part of our traditional culture, has been gradually ignored by the public. It is not rare to see in China that an increasing number of people prefer to buy some clothes produced by modern machinery production instead of those made by their parents or themselves. Besides, when people are annoyed at their furniture or electric appliances broken, they might be more willing to ask repair companies for help rather than taking their own effort to deal with these problems. The reason for this fact lies in some changes in people ’s lifestyles and educational systems today. The fundamental reason is that people have less time to practice some manual skills. In fact, most citizens living in big modern cities, like Tokyo or Beijing, are always feeling stressed. It is common to see that a younger worker has to work overtime every weekend in order to acquire enough income, or many university students are forced to stay in the library for 12 hours every day so as to finish their thesis for graduation. As a result, considering the much time cost of making clothes and repairing something broken, the activities have been gradually only seen as a waste of time by those who are living in urban areas. In addition, a fact that many schools do not set up manual activities as a required course would have an impact on the disappearance of these activities. Most of the schools are always focusing on some courses that can help students develop their intellectual skills and specific knowledge. This means that though many people are still interested in manual skills, their desire to train these skills would be difficult to be satisfied with existing education systems. To summarize,the gradual disappearance of conventional manual skills would be also widespread in Chinese society, which may be caused by the current situation of people ’s lifestyle and the educational institution in China.