Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

Our justice system follows different punishments for different offences depending on the severe the action was. However, some people believe that having a fixed trial in place will be a more efficient way to handle criminals while others do not. Though I personally agree with the latter part of the audience, In my essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishments for all crimes. Firstly, let's discuss the positive side. We can get the crime rate down. To explaining it further, there are a few offences that don't have severe sentencing in our law enforcement system. For example, robbery, physical abuse and domestic violence have minimal punishment. In such cases, a few violators feel that they can easily get over it during their courtroom decision. There are a few people who repeat their mistakes even after serving their sentence. In situations like this, it is an advantage to have fixed suffering in place. There is a high possibility for crimine conductors to think twice before participating in any violating activities. Secondly, on the other hand, a known fact is that humans are not perfect and can get carried away by emotions in certain situations. Giving second chance will definitely improve one's lifestyle. For instance, there are a number of children under the poverty line, who often indulge in criminal activities due to lack of guidance and for their day-to-day living. In such cases, rather than punishing them harshly, our system provides them counselling. There are multiple examples where individuals have come out to be better humans after their jail term. Our law is designed for better mankind by showcasing empathy and humanity. It is important that we respect our ancient policies. To conclude, there are two sides to a coin and is important to understand the advantages and disadvantages of each side. Fixed punishment might be harsh on someone in some instances, whereas, some offences do not have reasonable sentencing in action. Therefore, I believe in having strict laws in place rather than badging one with a fixed punishment.