In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays children are exposed to a lot of pressure from parents as they wish their child succeeds. Particularly, children are convinced that by trying hard, they will achieve any goal that they have. In this essay, I will examine what are the main benefits and potential risks of this approach of motivation. It seems a wise approach to incentivize a child to work hard as it may contribute not only to the child’s future but also to the whole society. First of all, such stimulation yields good results during the career path of a child. By putting a lot of effort into solving tasks from the beginning, people tend to have greater diligence, responsibility, and perseverance than an average person. A worker, for example, who has all these skills is likely to have much more tasks quickly done and, later, to be promoted to high-level positions with a decent salary. That is a huge contribution to the fulfilling life of this person. Moreover, others can also reap the benefits. While the community could suffer from an adverse disease or a virus, a hard worker could come up with an innovative solution to this problem promptly, as he concentrates on this issue all day long without bothering about distracting factors and is fully dedicated to his work. A never-ending work, however, could pose a threat to mental health and personal life. It is obvious that people make mistakes and are not capable of doing all work with the best outcome. One failure could undermine the enthusiasm, and the chances to get back on track decreases every time. Such people usually struggle mentally as feel a lot of pressure and hope relied on them. Consequently, it leads to many disorders and mental illnesses like depression that is hard to battle. In addition, given all that the person misses during his life, he will face loneliness. Because of a lack of time clearly person does not have a chance to build a family, meet family and friends. Thus, while the person retires, he feels isolated and lonely as he did not devote enough time on personal life earlier. In conclusion, when children are motivated to work a lot in order to attain impressive goals, it could bring a positive impact on everyone's life, although it has detrimental effects on the health of mind and families bond.