People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Due to the advent of streaming services and personal computers it has become increasingly common for individuals to watch entertainment alone rather than with friends and family. In my opinion, this is having an overall negative effect in spite of the merits it offers. First of all, to begin with, the main disadvantage of this approach is that it reduces the social contact people have with their family and surroundings. Thus, reducing the positive vibes and fun. Also, communication is vital which is not achieved by this method. Therefore, when people spend time alone they can feel stressed or depressed which has a negative impact on their mental and physical health. For example, research has shown that loneliness and self-isolation have reduced the energy and strength of many. Moreover, another drawback might be the lack of exchange of thoughts or less discussion about the programme plot. This is due to the fact that they have only one point of view, which is theirs. But when viewing films with family or friends, the discussion allows you to view the programme from a different point of view. Thus allowing you to gain vital knowledge and facts. For example, scientists claim that people who are exposed to different points of view have increased analytical skills and boosting their IQ. To conclude, although watching shows alone has benefits in terms of personal choice, the drawbacks related to social interaction make it a negative on the whole. Individuals should strive to limit the time they spend alone watching TV shows and movies.