Some believe that protecting the environment is the responsibility of individuals, while others think that governments and large companies should take the lead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Protecting the surroundings has become a pressing issue in many countries. While some contend that an individual’s contribution is vital, others argue that governments and big companies should play their leading role as well. This essay will explore both perspectives and explain why I support the former viewpoint. On the one hand, I agree with those advocating that protecting nature is the responsibility of individuals. In any nation, residents of the community play a key role in preserving the natural beauty of the area. For instance, a survey showed that in order to protect the natural beauty, people of Hunza have installed dustbins in remote areas by gathering money from the local neighbourhood. Additionally, the common man plays a key part in maintaining the rules and regulations at the local level as well. For example, in our own village, we have a special group of people who help the police identify individuals involved in cutting the trees on the bank of a canal. Therefore, such prestigious behaviour from the locals of the neighbourhood helps in the protection of the environment. On the other hand, opponents argue that the governing bodies and big giants should take the lead in the preservation of the environment. First and foremost, the government should adopt proper rules and legislation in this matter, such as charging heavy fines. To support this narrative, let’s take an example of Dubai, where if someone throws garbage on the road, then that person is heavily charged. In addition, big companies can play their role by properly handling their waste and hazardous materials. Furthermore, research shows that the air and water quality of London can be improved by 30% if industries properly handle their waste. In light of the above facts, I admit that government and large organisations can play a leading part, but I believe that better protection of the environment can be done only by the residents of the community.