Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile delinquency is an issue of broad interest to the general public. Some people advocate that the government should impose the same punishments on young offenders as adult lawbreakers. Personally, I think that juvenile criminals should suffer the consequences differently compared with mature ones. Granted, it is unjustifiable for the young who are in breach of the law to be treated in the same way as adult offenders owing to their insufficient intellect. Young perpetrators cannot fully make out the adverse consequences of their offences. Some take part in illegal acts just because of curiosity, copying adults’ behaviours, or committing a petty crime to escape poverty. Thus, giving them a harsh sentence is deemed not a fair trial. Meanwhile, there are other valuable forms of punishment for young people committing crimes. For instance, instead of being sent to prisons where hardened criminals live, young offenders should go to rehabilitation centres or reformatory schools where they are not only educated and trained appropriately but continue their academic education as well. Consequently, for the sake of their future, the young perpetrator can realize their misdeeds, learn salutary lessons, avoid mental disorders and criminal records when being given a second chance. Besides, juvenile culprit should be forced to do unpaid community service such as working for a charity or improving the environment, which offers underage hooligan golden opportunities to contribute to society. In conclusion, a fitting punishment can act as a deterrent to deter the young from committing crimes. It is advisable that the government should impose light penalties on young offenders.