Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicle, others think there are other better ways. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The perspectives on the means of improving road safety vary widely. Some people believe that lowering speed limits on vehicles is the best policy, while others think there are other better plans. In this essay, I will explore both viewpoints and explain why I strongly agree with the latter argument. On the one hand, although imposing stricter limitations on maximum speed can protect pedestrians to some extent, it fails to consider other factors related to road safety. One major concern is that sometimes a car accident is caused by misunderstanding the meaning of traffic light, like both drivers and pedestrians are hesitant about whether they should cross the street when yellow lights appear. In addition, road conditions have to be taken into consideration. In the majority of countries, including developed nations, we can often witness roads with uneven surfaces, which distract drivers from staying focused on their surroundings. Therefore, even if people are regulated to drive slower, the danger of roads still remains unchanged overall. On the other hand, in my opinion, governments should take the initiative to educate citizens. After all, individuals who drive fast are typically not aware of the consequences of it, including the threats they pose to people walking on streets and nearby drivers. As a result, if the authorities keep delivering the risks of bad driving habits to people, road safety can be easily improved. This is because people tend to protect themselves, so both drivers and pedestrians will be more alert to the potential danger on the road. In conclusion, reducing speed limits on vehicles is not able to solve safety problems like identifying traffic signs and the danger brought by the roads themselves. In contrast, teaching citizens the importance of following the correct driving manners can help significantly.