Some people think that children should learn to compete, but others think that they should be taught to co-operate so that they could become more useful adults. State some reasons for both views and give your opinion.

It has always been fascinating to consider what contributes to shaping a useful citizen’s personality. Although determining to compete does benefit individuals since it offers an environment that motivates them to thrive, I hold the belief that the advantages of co-operating are weightier as it not only enables people to work efficiently but also creates a sense of peace among collaborators. On the one hand, learning to compete is becoming irrefutably essential in this increasingly ambitious world. What should be taken into consideration is that it encourages people to try their best. When people are taken into comparison, they are forced to show out their potentials and achievements because no one wants to be inferior to others. As a result, individuals would work hard to perform the most perfect side of themselves which motivates the development of society. This is simply exemplified by circumstances of Asian school competitions, at which students always be put to vie with others; therefore, the fact remains that Asian teams seem to perform better and achieve higher positions in global championships. On the other hand, collaboration skill is furthermore important to both social development and one’s improvement. What should be the priority is that the productivity of tasks could be boosted when people co-operate. Because everyone has different strengths, a team of various members could come up with more excellent results when these strengths assemble. It is also undeniable that the more people work together, the faster the assignment is fulfilled. What is of paramount importance is that teaming up brings about a sense of peace. Working together gives people the opportunity to share any problem they have. As they open up, collaborators learn to trust people around them, have a grasp of communicating more freely, therefore, a strong foundation of a healthy relationship is set. Moreover, when people throw in together, they will no longer work under stress and pressure of becoming the best. A prime example of this case is the decrease in the number of people facing mental breakdowns when working in a team instead of competing individually. From my personal perspective, the most important thing that a child should be educated on is to know how to live peacefully with others. The harmony and development of the society could be maintained only when people co-operate to reach an agreement.