Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. Discuss the causes and solutions.

While some believed that our quality of life is improving with the advent of technology, people's living quality is, in fact, dwindling for two reasons, firstly decrease in purchasing power and secondly the emergence of pollution problems. Yet, I believe there are still ways to rectify the problem as long as stakeholders are willing to take action. To begin with, citizen's purchasing power is shrinking so is their life satisfaction. While the price level is continuously escalating, the average salaries are stagnant in developed cities. A typical case in point, Hong Kong- notorious for its skyrocket life index has also ranked almost the last in the survey of the happiest city in the world. This can be explained by its expansive living cost along with unchanged wages for twenty years which result in high stress levels and barely maintenance in providing food on the table. In addition, the problems of air pollution and climate change have worsened throughout the last decade in urban cities. The construction of infrastructure in modern cities is at the expense of our natural resources like air, water, to name just a few. This hence causes a reduction in the quality of living in cosmopolitan cities. The issue of decreasing life quality in large cities is a thorny problem with no easy solutions. The governments should step up so as to enhance people's quality of life. It is only through law enforcement, for instance, raising the minimum wages and restriction on air pollutant emission could the life satisfaction of residents be improved. To conclude, to solve the lower quality of life attributed to environmental problems and the high price index, the official should act now without further ado.