Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People have different views about the way to arrange classes for students appropriately. Some people advocate that placing the highest-achieving children in one cluster, the lowest in another, might create a stimulating learning environment, while others think that pupils of different levels should be taught together. Personally, it is my firm conviction that it is better to categorize students based on their academic performance. On the one hand, there are some reasons why lecturers should teach scholars separately according to their proficiency level. One of the main advantages of this practice is convenience. To begin with, it is relatively more straightforward for teachers to have suitable exams as well as follow the same explicit instruction or syllabus for each dynamic and lower-tier group. Then, school professors can reduce pressure and fatigue as the assessment becomes much simpler. Besides, students are likely to have their own learning environment. Brilliant children might have several opportunities to access accelerated programs and excel in a way that they cannot do in normal classes. Meanwhile, students at remedial courses can be helped with closer attention from the lecturer and improve their knowledge step by step. On the one hand, I believe that running a course with a mix of strengths and weaknesses is worthwhile. The first justification is that collaboration benefits students of all abilities. Granted, children at different ranks can learn from the forte and flaws of their partners. Meanwhile, in classes in which scholars at similar levels study together, there is no collaboration since pupils tend to be egocentric and intensely competitive to have a go at achieving superb performance on their own. Accordingly, it is likely that children learning at different speeds, especially struggling ones, can articulate their understanding and, thus, gradually making progress. Another primary justification for a differentiated classroom is attributed to wide natural student variations. Even in an advanced class, there are some juniors who naturally grasp Maths and others who struggle greatly. Owing to that dissimilarity, there will always be some students more gifted than others. Consequently, it’s obviously crucial to teach various levels at once so that no individual is lost or frustrated. In conclusion, both dividing children into different classrooms based on their ability and teaching students with various levels together have advantages. However, it seems to me that school educators should teach youngsters at different levels together for the sake of their long-term study efficiency.