Computers are being used more in education nowadays than in the past. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Technology is playing an increasingly important role in schools and universities. Most educational institutions use computers in the classroom and many rely on online platforms to deliver their courses and communicate with staff and students off-campus too. This essay will discuss what I consider to be the main advantages and potential drawbacks of computers in education. There are several key benefits stemming from the use of electronic devices in an educational context. The main one is the greater access it allows. Whereas in the past students had to physically attend lectures and tutorials, these days everything can be done remotely and even asynchronously. This means that education is more available and flexible than ever. Another key advantage is that computers allow teachers to better meet learners' needs. As content can be delivered using video, audio and even virtual reality nowadays, engagement and success rates are demonstrably higher There are, however, some drawbacks associated with the increasing reliance on computers. A decrease in face-to-face interaction is one of them. With more and more people studying remotely, there are fewer opportunities for interaction between students and their peers or teachers, which can be problematic for young people in particular. In addition to this social concern, there is an issue of cheating and plagiarism. Since most university work, including assessment, is now done without supervision it is not difficult for students to pay others to write in their place, and it can be difficult to detect. Such actions can undermine the integrity of the qualification and the institution In conclusion, this essay discussed the impact of computers on education. It is clear that, despite the possible problems, there are great advantages to incorporating them into learning.