Some people think that physical strength is more important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important, discuss both views and give your opinion

Many believe that physical ability and endurance is the key factor for success in any sporting events. Meanwhile, there is another lot, who think that a powerful mind helps a person to perform at his peak levels. This essay discusses both views and suggests my personal opinion. To begin with, it is a well-known fact that, fitness has paramount importance in any sports or game. A strong body clearly, is a major component in determining the performance success in any event. For instance, a popular game such as, Soccer requires its participants to sprint at very high speeds and kick the ball throughout the period of the game hence, the team members should be in their best shape to play a good match. Thus it is an obvious and undoubted fact that, physical ability is significant in achieving peak performance in any event. Furthermore, there is another group that believes that mental strength and endurance plays, a vital role in the performance of any athlete. There are often times, in spite of being at the verge of collapse, our body still manages to push through, this is achieved as a result of the strong determination of a well-trained mind. For example, it is clearly visible towards the end of a marathon event that, despite being completely out of his/her breath, the runner still manages to push through which, is only possible as a result of a tenous mind. To summarize, even though a strong body is required to succeed in sporting events, a much stronger will is an absolute necessity in achieving greater performance. I believe that a stronger and well-trained mind has more significance than a solid athletic figure.