In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In the last few decades, there has been an increase in the number of students travelling abroad to seek tertiary education. Although some professionals claim that this phenomenon adversely affects the students ' home countries, many disagree with that. It is a fact that this is a positive development because it has several rewarding outcomes for both individuals and society. However, a comparison of both perspectives will be further provided below. On the one hand, youth having education overseas is detrimental mainly for economic reasons. When college undergraduates travel to study, this causes their home countries to suffer from brain drain, and as a result many of the countries lack expertise in fields like: science, technology, and arts. In Egypt, for instance, many high school graduates get educated in the United States or Canada which leaves the country with serious issues in the job market. Moreover, the amount of finances involved in studying abroad can impose a financial burden on families and may increase their students laons immensely. What can be said is that youth are the country's engine; therefore, overseas education should be controlled wisely to help countries thrive. On the other hand, studying in other countries, especially developed ones, offers better education opportunities and a huge exposure to different cultures. This means that if one seek seeked higher education abroad, they would receive high-quality education in renowned universities which follow advanced learning pedagogy. A good example is Harvard University and Stanford University which are well-known for equipping their students with the best tuition and curriculums. Another advantage is the integration of diverse cultures which provides university students with various perspectives and makes them more open to different currents of thoughts; this eventually leads to a more erudite society. This shows that getting a university degree not only does it open doors to better opportunities, but it also helps the community become more tolerant. In conclusion, it can be reiterated that although studying abroad might have some potential drawbacks, it remains an excellent way to connect people from all around the world and a door to many beneficial possibilities.