Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinions.

All employers search for workers who can be of great benefit to their business. While it is thought by some that personal information such as hobbies, interests and relationship status can be an indicator of a candidate's abilities, there are others who believe it is irrelevant. In my view, asking about private information is an effective way to gain insight into the candidate's work performance. Some people are opposing the idea of knowing about a person's life in a job application process because it does not predict their abilities in work. This is because most occupations require a specific skill set and knowledge which can only be measured by experience in a relevant field and their educational credentials. A good example of this is IT engineering, where only technical skills and knowledge play a role in work. Others, on the other hand, think that what a person does outside of work hours is important as there are many aspects of pastime that can be applied to a work environment. Someone who has an active lifestyle, for this reason, has a higher chance of succeeding. For example, travelling involves time management, cultural awareness and planning, all of which are useful skills in most professions. Finally, I feel that knowing about a candidate's personal life is useful for better relationships in the business. Undoubtedly, a relationship between colleagues is a crucial factor for success in any profession as it leads to a higher level of teamwork. Therefore, by having an understanding of a candidate's personal interests, employers can expect if they could forge a strong connection with others in the workplace. Some workplaces, for instance, hold outdoor activities frequently to strengthen bonds between employees, therefore a person who prefers being indoors might not be the best fit. In conclusion, I believe that personal information is important to have for employers to determine whether the candidate would be successful in their workplace. It is crucial that they strive to better understand their prospective employees.