Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that advertising leads us to buy products which we do not really need. On the other hand, people say that advertising makes us aware of the brand which helps us lead better lives. I completely agree with the former and would present my viewpoint in the below paragraphs. Today is the age of materialism. Sometimes people do not realize the things they buy is a direct result of the advertisement they see on the television or the internet. While scrolling a Facebook feed, we come across a hair or beauty product that is intended to grab our attention with an eye-catchy headline and attention-grabbing picture and you are bound to click and buy the product. In fact, in a recent survey, 55% of Americans confessed to spending money on products they do not need based on the advertisement they saw. Secondly, advertisement is the need of the corporates to sell their produce. Marketing and advertising are the easiest way they find to reach billions of people to make them aware of the commodity they are selling. But does that mean, a consumer really needs it? Consumers need to decide for themselves whether they need a certain product or not based on their requirements. For example, in a recent study in France, it was found that 65% of the corporates are advertising output that customers do not need daily. I would like to conclude my essay by highlighting that advertising might be a great tool to make the customers aware of the company’s commodity, buyers should be aware that this is only being done to lure them to buy the commodity.