Many people argue that smoking should be banned due to its harmful effects on human health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Smoking is a common addiction these days. Many experts opine that it should be banned completely due to its detrimental impact on the human body. Personally, I am in consummate accord with the aforementioned statement and the following expository paragraphs will expatiate my stance with lucid examples. Firstly, it is apparent that smoking can cause deadly diseases in the body of an individual. To elucidate, the perilous smoke can damage the lungs of the person inhaling it and thereby, giving rise to myriad treacherous problems to the health. Nevertheless, even after detection of any malady, the addiction caused can exacerbate it which sometimes leads to death as well. For example, it has been revealed by a survey conducted by oxford university that 70% of smokers are more prone to lung cancer. Therefore, it is indispensable to ban such addictions that act like a worm for the human body. Moreover, not only smokers but the people in the surroundings also get affected adversely due to the smoke of cigarettes present in the air. Many people,unknowingly, deteriorate their health by inhaling the smoke from somebody else nearby.To illustrate, a teenager might get affected if someone from his family is a smoker and often smokes inside the home. As a result, this habit can put several other people in jeopardy and hence,should be prohibited. To conclude, the government should take resolute steps to ban smoking immediately. The health of the people is paramount and it is imperative to thwart any kind of habit posing danger to it.