Some claim that studying abroad has great benefits for a student’s home country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that studying in another country is largely beneficial for the home provincial of the scholar in question. In my opinion, the losses entailed by these students potentially emigrating are outweighed by the expertise they often bring back. Critics of this contention argue that many of the best and brightest students never return to their bucolic of origin. This is especially the case as it regards developing countries, including both ordinary and famous examples. The average student from a developing nation that studies abroad in the United States or Europe, will likely have the opportunity to pursue a career there. Once hired by a company, there is a clear pathway to residency and even citizenship in the future. Since these junior must meet higher admission requirements, it logically follows that a significant percentage will never return and share their newly acquired expertise with their fellow citizens. Nonetheless, the instances above are rare and there are tangible effects from knowledgeable graduates returning to their homes. Such undergraduates are capable of contributing novel outlooks and perspectives in society generally the workplace more specifically. One illustrative example of this in Vietnam is Ngo Bao Chau who studied mathematics at Oxford. After his studies abroad, he was awarded the most prestigious mathematics award, the Fields Medal, in 2007. Upon his return to Vietnam, he established a mathematics academy in Hanoi that distinguishes itself from other institutions with an innovative approach borrowed from Western schools. None of this would likely have come to pass if he had simply remained in Vietnam to study like most other undergraduates. In conclusion, despite the risks that talented individuals may choose to reside permanently in a new home, there are more concrete benefits for the home province. Governments should therefore encourage such undergraduates with state scholarships.