Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be rewarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that top-performing students should be praised. However, others argue that those, who constantly try to improve their academic performance, deserve recognition. This essay will discuss both views, although I firmly believe that both categories of pupils should be recognised for their accomplishments. On the one hand, it is undeniable that individuals put a great deal of hard work and effort to maintain excellent marks. On top of that, the vast majority of straight-A students have to sacrifice other aspects of their lives, which are equally important for social development. For instance, they devote their weekends to preparing for the next class, instead of taking well deserved rest and spending time with friends. Such behaviour might lead to tremendous consequences, which include burn-out, anxiety and depression. Thus, in order to keep their minds on positive aspects of studying and to motivate them further, it is crucial to recognise their hard work by rewarding them. On the other hand, it takes colossal effort to identify own mistakes and start working on them. Such pupils also sacrifice their hobbies and social life in order to improve their marks. And while they might not be a top-performer student, their progress is noticeable. Nevertheless, it is still difficult for them to keep their focus on perfecting test scores and continuously persuade higher results. Hence, students, whose academic achievements are improved over the course of time, should be awarded as well. To conclude, whether it is a top of the class student or someone, who is trying to increase their overall academic results, the efforts and work put into the final achievement should be rewarded.