Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that it should prioritize addressing social and environmental issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, with the rapid growth of technology, we are witnessing great advances in different fields. Sometimes, it is argued that it could be good practice for companies and other institutions that instead of working on innovations that just make profits, they should work on innovations and ideas that benefit the environment and social problems. While I understand the advantages of prioritizing ideas to address people's daily routine issues, I completely disagree with this notion. On the one hand, environmentally friendly innovation could benefit individuals, especially future generations. For example, new ideas about creating efficient cars and renewable energy have many advantages that could be helpful for our general health. Besides, people could trust institutions that care about the environment and people. When big companies and conglomerates start to care about innovation that addresses people ’s problems, it could encourage people and students to spend their time on something similar. Despite all of these sentences, I am afraid I would argue against this idea because I think all of these claims would be unrealistic in the modern world. On the other hand, companies need money to survive and serve their clients; without any profits, they cannot even pay their employees. A good innovation needs a proper group of skilled workers to work on it; training workers, scientists, researchers, and managers cost a lot of money. Another reason worth mentioning here is the fact that companies or people who devote their time to an idea should be motivated to try harder; without any profits, no one tends to work any further. Plus, when the company’s income is low, professionals don’t try to get a job at that company because of the lack of market cap. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the most important factor for a successful innovation is its profit and its impact on overall economic growth.