Some people believe governments should spend money on saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the expansion of globalization, certain languages are about to vanish. Since some believe that we should do them a solid by providing financial supports, others believe otherwise. This article will discuss both views and explain why it is important to save endangered languages. On one hand, some might side with the stance of not doing anything to save the languages spoke by minorities on the account that such languages are of no practical use. In this highly competitive world, for the sake of better communication with others, people are expected to master interpersonal skills, including being able to speak lingua franca. However, considering the fact that these minor languages are generally speaking by some primitive clans or least developed countries where are technologically lagging behind, they might lack lexical resources in terms of certain fields such as business. In other words, these languages comprise nothing special but some common utterances. Therefore, there is no exaggeration to say that such languages are invalid. On the other hand, others maintain that we must spend money on saving the endangered languages since they positively contribute to a better understanding of the world. It is common knowledge that world history is a culmination of countries’ history. As an important aside, historians are now struggling to work out the full version of world history, but with the assistance of such languages, they will gain a better understanding of what happened in the past through analysing ancient scripts or frescoes. In other words, these languages serve as tools to investigate a country’s history. Therefore, considering every culture is a dispensable part of human civilization, governments should invest money to save the threatened languages. To conclude, while some argue that the threatened languages can bring us no intangible benefits, others maintain that it is a key to open the door of the past world. In my opinion, it is valuable to spend money since it generally does not cost much. In order to maximize the benefits, we should evaluate its values before invest money.