In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this competitive world, it is really important to showcase unique features in every product to gain customer attention. Also advertising the products showing the business understands its user needs will provide additional interest. In this essay, I will further discuss my view on this practice. Firstly, today's business industry is very wide and we often see that many companies produce the same item. In a way to stand out from others, it is really important to tell the audience the uniqueness of the produce. For example, the USA based makeup company KKW might produce the same formulations as others but recently has gained much attention due to its products being paraben and cruelty-free. Therefore, the marketing department understood the expectations of youngsters and have stressed those features in their advertising. Secondly, due to this practice, there are two main advantages: positive competition and encourages the manufacturers to be creative. For instance, new advertising techniques force the producers and their companies to constantly try creating new cosmetics or related products. This indeed hikes the market and provides the customers with wider selection options. On the other hand, there are negative implications to such advertising. Fraud advertisers take advantage of the disclosed information and fool consumers. To conclude, I feel that modern-day advertising techniques and their emphasis on consumer needs do help the relative industry. I believe this to be a positive development and very advantageous for the consumers.