Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

Many individuals nowadays prefer to work for themselves rather than being employed in an organization. The main reason behind this preference is the freedom which people get by working independently. However, I believe this phenomenon has both merits and demerits and one has to very careful before taking such a decision. To begin with self-employment merits, entrepreneurship is greatly encouraged with lots of business seminars and workshops advertised. Generally, any information on setting up a company is easily accessible for those who are willing, as being a business person, the image itself has a feeling of luxury, respectability, and success. An entrepreneur gets a multiple sources of income, if he chooses to invest in different projects and can easily become wealthier as a Steve Jobs. Another benefit of being self-employed, you can be your own boss and can work remotely with a flexible hours. However, there are several drawbacks to this. To start with, there is no guarantee that a self-employed person will earn enough to live a comfortable life. When people work for a company, they have the assurance of a guaranteed paycheck at the end of the month; however, when they work for themselves this guarantee is missing. Another disadvantage is that many self-employed people work day and night and do not get time to spend with their family and friends. Thus, it creates an imbalance in their work and personal life. Moreover, a huge difference can be seen in their daily routine which affects their health adversely. To recapitulate, working for oneself is definitely beneficial for young people because it enables them to work on their own terms; however, there are drawbacks such as the lack of a guaranteed paycheck that need to be considered before choosing to be an entrepreneur.