Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Placing the elderly in Nursing Homes is becoming a trend for many people where they do not necessarily take care of them at home anymore. This issue would contain two sides in contrast. Therefore, in this, the paper I will argue the benefits the seniors would be better put in care homes and its drawbacks. First of all, nursing homes are one of the best options for looking after the elderly rather than keeping them at home. Not only do they have excellent facilities and professional nurses to take care of them, but also, this place is safer than at their home alone. For instance, many elderly people had an accidental slip in the bathroom because their family could not oversee them for 24 hours or the stairs would be the riskiest spot for them. Besides, the elderly would be happy to meet other elderly and do activities together, e.g., sharing life stories, doing sports and fitness activities for older people together, and many more. Secondly, even though senior homes are reliable for caring for the elderly, not all cities provide excellent senior home facilities. In small towns, for instance, there are several care homes that have poor facilities and unfriendly nurses. This phenomenon causes some older people to think they are abandoned by their families. At the same time, their families lose the opportunity to spend much more time with their parents or grandparents. In some cases, they let older people die in nursing homes. In conclusion, I believe not all older people dislike living in care homes, but in my opinion, taking care of them for the rest of their time is an attempt to return the favour where they had raised their child or relatives in the past.