Some people think that individuals are becoming more dependent on each other in modern society, while others believe that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As time progresses, structure of the society changes. Some people argue that people have become more intertwined with each other while others claim that the reverse is true. Although there are some areas that require people to support each other, this essay asserts that people have become less dependent on another person. To begin with, one of the main reasons why some believe that dependency on the society has increased appears to be the complexity of tasks in the workplace. Since people are more and more specialised in their fields today, they need to cooperate with their colleagues in order to be effective at work. For example, healthcare workers such as doctors, nurses and other staff have a team spirit in hospitals with the aim of improving the patients’ health. If they do not use the other specialist’s knowledge, they are doomed to a failure. Nevertheless, the opponents argue that people are more self-reliant in today’s world. This is mainly due to the advancements in the technology such as online shopping stores or remote working. This is to say, people do not need to go a traditional brick-and-mortar store and interact with sales persons, because mobile applications are offering them to reach all their needs with a click. Likewise, most people can earn their living remotely nowadays, which leads them to get in touch with other employees less frequently. To sum, web-based facilities brought about people to be more free and less connected with other people. In conclusion, people think distinctly regarding one’s reliance on the community. Even though cooperation in the workplace is essential for some areas and workers in those fields count on each other to a large extent, modern world conveniences led people to be less reliant on others especially about everyday life concerns.