Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it positive or negative development?

Currently, vehicles are being controlled by artificial intelligence, which makes them driverless. This is due to the advanced technological development and is beneficial, as it not only ensures safety on roads but also allows disabled individuals to travel alone. The increased implementation of AI into automobiles was caused by the rapid development of computer science. In the modern-day, complex algorithms analyse traffic on roads, as well as accidents, to construct a safe journey. Furthermore, the internet made it easier to gain access to the data shared by other users. This in turn allows the software to collect more data to constantly improve over time and produce even more convenient routes for the passengers. For instance, this method is used by Google and Tesla to keep their programs up to date and help AI to make better decisions. In spite of possible downsides, AI ruled motor vehicles would be of considerable help. It is generally known that the vast majority of accidents occur due to drivers’ irresponsibility. To give an example, people drive while being intoxicated, exhausted or distracted. Automated cars would solve this, by putting careless drivers in passengers’ seats and strictly obeying the traffic laws. Moreover, such automobiles would be favoured by the handicapped part of the population. As they provide with an opportunity for these people to travel alone without being accompanied. To conclude, automobiles that are driven by artificial intelligence are gaining popularity. That is due to the fact that software and computer engineering has seen considerable growth. And because of the benefits self-driving cars bring to society, such as increased safety and autonomy for incapacitated people, this should be considered as a positive tendency.