The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, shopping and education. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that traffic congestion is an inevitable problem in most developed regions. Some people think that only reducing the travel demand for commuters can improve the problem. However, I completely disagree with this view. This essay will further discuss the reasons behind my viewpoint. Although alleviating traffic demand is a good way to solve the problem, I think it is not the most ideal choice. For example, some of the blue collar jobs which need workers to work at a fixed workplace as opposed to working from home, such as restaurant employees, security guard and maintenance crew. In terms of education, online teaching is widely used at present, but there are some practical curriculums that need to be taught face to face, including cookery courses, chemistry and arts. People who go shopping are in order to relax and enjoy themselves. They usually hang out with friends or family instead of staying at home and doing online shopping. On the other hand, I believe that there are other more effective methods to cope with traffic jams. It is obvious that commuters tend to travel at the same time of day, and it causes traffic jams during rush hour. Firstly, governments should improve traffic infrastructure. For instance, parking zones should be extended and well controlled to prevent exacerbating congestion by people driving around looking for parking space. Secondly, bus operators should enhance bus service. They can add more bus lanes, it helps to cut down journey time when it comes at the peak time. This development also can increase people's willingness to take buses and reduce the dependence on private cars. In conclusion, admittedly, diminishing people's need for traffic has its benefits, but it would not be the best solution to tackle the traffic problem.