Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education?

There is an abundance of aspects of education available in this time and age. The traditional method is to force students to study, just like the rest of the crowd. However, there are new approaches as well in this new era wherein people are encouraged to adapt to the changes and study according to their interests. This essay shall delve into both merits and demerits of the educational system. If we consider debating about the traditional approach, on the one hand, there are pupils who do not have an option but to follow what others are doing. Even if they are not interested in certain subjects, they have to learn them. If a student is not intrigued and studying just for the sake of it, there is no benefit, neither for a student nor for the teacher as this is just going to be waste of time and effort. On the other hand, learners get exposure to all sorts of subjects which can be proven lucrative for them in future. For instance, in Master's of Business Administration, each and every student who is pursuing post-graduation have to study common subjects of management in the first year itself. Later on, in the second year, they are free to go for the subject they want to major in. This way helps them to choose any of the subjects they want, comparing the previous knowledge they gained in the in the year before. Now, if we consider the modern approach of studies wherein an individual is free to opt for whichever class they feel like taking. This involves the passion of a person, so there are high chances of staying engaged throughout the course. Nonetheless, the only issue here is that the mindset of a human being is very flexible and we can not stick to only one thing for the rest of our lives. We need change, and therefore, our interests may change at each stage of life. Studies within the interest can sometimes be expensive as well. To sum up, it is rightly said that each and every coin has two sides. Here as well, both the methods of studies can be beneficial or detrimental for a person given the choices of life. If one is not clear about what to do, it is better to learn what others are learning. Albeit, when there is a clear picture and path to follow, it is better to do what is within the best of one's interest without wasting a moment.