Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that protecting the environment is beyond the power of individual citizens, and that corporations and governments alone are able to take effective action on this issue. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that individual actions can together contribute to positive environment change, while persuading governments and companies to protect the natural world. First of all, individuals can create positive environmental change by working together as a community. This is because the effects of many small actions quickly add up. For example, if each person in a large city chose to walk or take the bus instead of driving for one day a week, the reduction in air pollution would be huge. While it is true that one person acting alone cannot make much difference, many individuals taking the same action can have a dramatic positive effect. Furthermore, the actions of individuals can also influence governments and corporations, due to the fact that people have power as both citizens and consumers. For instance, they can organize social media campaigns or boycott certain products which are bad for the environment. While there is no question that governments and large companies must play a role in protecting the natural world, it is clear that individuals and communities can put pressure on these organisations to act. In conclusion, people can protect the environment by coordinating their individual actions, which will also have a positive effect on governments and corporations. In my opinion, everyone has a responsibility to care for the environment.