Social drama on TV for example soap or soaps plays an important social role? How far you agree or disagree with this topic.

The mode of entertainment was confined to single-screen cinema halls and black and white televisions for the most part of the 20th century, but not anymore. People today have these modes of entertainment in every handheld device and also in almost every room in their homes. Soap opera is one of the biggest sources of entertainment on these devices and I totally agree that it plays a very important social role. To begin with, I would like to compare the social impact of soap operas with one other major visual source of entertainment: movies. The movie industry is a multi-billion dollar industry that attracts millions of people to cinema halls every year. Even though it has a huge audience, the impact they leave on an individual is short-lived. Even the most motivating movie captivates an individual only for a few days. Soap Opera, on the other,hand lasts with an individual for many years thus is able to leave a long-lasting impact. For example, the TV series, FRIENDS aired for 10 years and has been streamed over a billion times. Soap opera also provides a great platform for the young generation to explore different cultures and get acquainted with the latest trends around the globe. They also help in moulding the personality of an individual too. People who do not have much exposure to the outside world learn what social behaviour is appropriate and what is cringeworthy. There are many dramas present out there that impose good moral values too. Although there are a lot of things to learn from television dramas, there are a few side-effects too. In order to attract a greater audience, the television industry has incorporated lots of foul content and obscenity too. Due to this practice, parents have to monitor what their children are watching and learning on television. To summarize, although there are a few challenges, Soap opera not only acts as a mode of entertainment but also as a visual teacher shaping an individual’s social life. Thus, I totally agree with the passage.