Due to development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people thought that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree??

It is an irrefutable fact that in a number of countries, with the emergence of supermarkets, the local businesses have had to suffer. Many are of the opinion that this will sound the death knell of many local shops. This essay will highlight why, this chain of thought is entirely true and provide evidence to support it. To begin with, in many developing countries, the expansion of supermarket chains is being funded by large corporate houses. They tend to lure customers with frequent and heavy discounts. For instance, with the onset of Reliance Mart, it has, albeit slowly, acquired more than 30 percent of the market share of the grocery retail business in India. Thus, the next -door vegetable vendors, find it extremely tough now, to match the financial prowess of these corporate heavyweights and subsequently, lose out on their customers. Furthermore, these hypermarkets are run by highly skilled professionals, who have the technical know-how to leverage technology in order to expand their business. They have the digital infrastructure in place whereby, they can accept customer orders through mobile apps. In addition to this, they possess the logistics capability required to have these orders delivered to the buyer’s doorstep. Local shop owners, unfortunately, are not skilled enough to leverage the use of digital innovation. Hence, the use of technology has further widened the gap between these supermarkets and the local shops as far as, generating business is concerned. To conclude, the rapid expansion of supermarket chains has been brought about with the support of widespread technological innovation and substantial investments in them by cash-heavy corporates. In my opinion, I completely agree that this has had a detrimental impact on the businesses of the local vendors and they might cease to exist in the future.