The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems, and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, it is widely argued that in order to channel more financial resources into mitigating other more threatening problems such as global warming, a smaller amount of the national budget should be allocated for tackling local environmental issues. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this view since I strongly believe that both local and global environmental issues should be funded with an equal amount of money. First of all, I hold a firm belief that investing government money in addressing environmental problems on the national scale plays a vital role in ensuring higher quality of life for citizens. This is because the degraded environment can have direct and dramatic detrimental effects on human health. Air pollution in some large cities, for example, has been proved as one of the main culprits leading to more serious respiratory diseases. Indeed, people who are living in developed or developing nations are faced with the increasing level of carbon dioxide or other poisonous gases in the air, which deteriorates their health and weakens their immune systems. In addition, I also argue that the importance of funding for solving more worrying problems such as global warming is undeniable. In fact, global warming is happening at an alarming rate, and there is no doubt that its far-reaching implications are irreversible. These rationales make it more urgent and imperative for humans to take immediate actions to alleviate it. To be more specific, if the Earth’s temperature continues to rise constantly, human beings will experience unprecedented heat, which in turn results in other devastating problems such as ice melting or extreme weather patterns. In conclusion, on account of the aforementioned reasons, I still assert the argument that financial resources should be spent equally on local and global environmental issues. Additionally, in my opinion, environmental problems on the local or global scale are closely intertwined, so if one of the two sides is not solved properly or not paid enough attention, the other cannot be tackled from its root.