Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that many people have been influenced by advertisements, and therefore they purchase goods without considering their true needs. I completely agree with this opinion and have solid reasons for that. Firstly, promoters produce glamorous commercials to advertise their products, even if their products do not have good quality and feasible functions. There are many TV commercials that advertise products at reasonable prices and at the same time mind-blowing functions. However, most of the time these fancy products have low quality and malfunction. As an example, in my country, a food processor has been advertised that seem to be very helpful and timesaving in the kitchen with really low price. Unfortunately, I have not seen even one customer of this product be satisfied with its function, and they all admitted that they not only waste their money but also their ingredients to prepare food with this processor. Additionally, many companies use celebrities in their advertisements to increase their sales. Therefore, many individuals, especially youngsters, impulsively purchase the products that their favourite singer or actor advertise. For instance, this is especially true for junk foods, when famous people eat fast food or drink soft drinks in a commercial but still appear slim and healthy. This persuades people that these types of foods and drinks are not hazardous to health and they start consuming those. On the contrary, celebrities may not eat or drink these unhealthy foods and drinks in their real lives. On the other hand, there are aspects against these arguments. Customers’ buying habit is undeniable, and no one can judge whether people buy according to the commercials or their real needs. I agree that many individuals from young to adults become influenced by glamorous commercials and celebrities who play in advertisements, and they purchase unnecessary products.